The seventh month of 2017 was one to write home about for Audi Sport customer racing and its customers. The fourth overall victory for Audi was achieved in the Spa 24 Hours, as well as a second title of the year.
Around-the-clock-classic in the Ardennes

For the fourth time since 2011, an Audi R8 LMS crossed the finish line as the winner of the Spa 24 Hours. Audi Sport Team Saintéloc won the event with the trio of Markus Winkelhock, Jules Gounon and Christopher Haase in the no. 25 Audi R8 LMS.

The second title of the year was already clinched in July: After being crowned as the winners of the 2016/2017 3-Hour New Zealand Endurance Championship in March, the Smeg Racing duo of Simon Evans and Gene Rollinson added another New Zealand title to their names. The driver pairing won the third three-hour race of the North Island Endurance Series at Pukekohe, and in doing so, clinched the drivers’ title in the three-hour category. 

The Audi R8 LMS Cup passed the halfway mark of the 2017 season in South Korea. Reigning champion Alex Yoong won the weekend’s opening race, but it was Alessio Picariello who increased his lead in the drivers’ standings. The young Belgian took fourth place in the opening heat and then he collected his third victory of the season in the second race. 

Two Audi customer teams celebrated their first victories during the month of July. Stevenson Motorsports celebrated its first race win in the GTD class of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship when Lawson Aschenbach and Andrew Davis crossed the finish line in first place with their Audi R8 LMS at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. In Italy, Car Collection Motorsport took its first overall win with an Audi R8 LMS in the 24H Endurance Series, when the team won the 12-hour race at Mugello.

Two race weekends of the China GT Championship were held at Zhuhai during July and both saw the Audi drivers taking home the silverware. In total, the four GT3 races saw one 1-2-3 victory, two 1-2 successes and a single win as well.

More Audi R8 LMS victories were also achieved: HCB-Rutronik Racing won the Dunlop 60 races with Tommy Tulpe and Fabian Plentz at Hockenheim and Most. Montaplast by Land-Motorsport clinched a 1-2 victory in the ADAC GT Masters at Zandvoort in the Netherlands. The reigning ADAC GT Masters champions Christopher Mies and Connor De Phillippi won ahead of their teammates Christopher Haase and Jeffrey Schmidt. In Sweden, Jan Brunstedt won a Swedish GT Championship race at Falkenberg, and Down Under Matthew Stoupas won all three Victorian State Circuit Racing Championships races at Sandown, both were behind the wheel of Audi R8 LMS ultra cars. 

The Audi R8 LMS that won the Nürburgring 24 Hours in May was driven up the hill at the Goodwood Festival of Speed by Connor De Phillippi, who was part of the quartet of drivers who piloted the car to victory in the Eifel. 

Niels Langeveld gave the Audi RS 3 LMS its first victory in the ADAC TCR Germany. The Dutchman from the Racing One team won at Oschersleben. Langeveld then repeated this feat at Zandvoort, where he led an Audi 1-2 ahead of Sheldon van der Linde. More success in Germany as Audi Sport TT Cup driver Kevin Arnold won his class with an RS 3 LMS in the DMV GTC and Dunlop 60 races at Hockenheim. 

In July, Audi Sport customer racing produced the 100th example of the 350-hp Audi RS 3 LMS, less than a year after it was presented in September 2016. The gold-painted celebratory model was seen on stage at the Audi Summit in Barcelona and travelled together with the management team of the customer racing programme to the Martorell site in Spain, where all of the group’s TCR cars are assembled.